PJ Harvey has released a new album trailer

featuring tracks ‘The Community of Hope’ and ‘The Wheel’

Published on 22 January 2016


The music icon has released a new album trailer (below), which was directed by Seamus Murphy, the cinematographer she collaborated with for her recent poetry book The Hollow of the Hand. The short clip includes two new tracks “The Community of Hope” and “The Wheel”, and both tracks feature her distinctive, raw vocals over jangling swathes of guitar.

The video itself features footage from PJ Harvey’s time in Kosovo, Afghanistan and Washington, D.C., all places she visited over a four-year period. “When I’m writing a song I visualise the entire scene. I can see the colours, I can tell the time of day, I can sense the mood, I can see the light changing, the shadows moving, everything in that picture,” she commented. “Gathering information from secondary sources felt too far removed for what I was trying to write about. I wanted to smell the air, feel the soil and meet the people of the countries I was fascinated with.”

The album tracklist:
01. The Community of Hope
02. The Ministry of Defence
03. A Line in the Sand
04. Chain of Keys
05. River Anacostia
06. Near the Memorials to Vietnam and Lincoln
07.The Orange Monkey
08. Medicinals
09.The Ministry of Social Affairs
11.The Wheel
12. Dollar, Dollar